LPGA Tour welcomes back International Crown team event

Table of Contents

The LPGA Tour is the best team event without a cup.

South Korean firm Hanwha is now the title sponsor of International Crown. It will return to the LPGA scene next year at Harding Park, San Francisco. Each country has four players competing in team play.

The Hanwha International Crown will take place May 4-7.

Mollie Marcoux Samaan, LPGA commissioner Mollie Marcoux Samaan, stated that the 32 athletes will have the honor of representing their country under their national colors.

The qualifying countries will then be divided into two groups and play round-robin fourballs matches over the next three days. The top two countries in each pool will advance to Sunday. The semifinals will include two singles matches, and one foursomes match.

The countries will determine the CME Group Tour Championship womens rankings. The world ranking on April 2, 2023 will determine the players who will qualify for each team.

The International Crown is usually held every other year. It began in 2014. The first event was won by Spain. Next came the United States. The most recent event was won by South Korea in 2018. It was cancelled in 2020 because COVID-19 was pandemic.

Harding Park, which is now part of TPC network, hosted the 2020 PGA Championship. It has hosted the Presidents Cup (2009) as well as two World Golf Championships, American Express in 2005 and Match Play in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect, Share, and Grow with Fellow Golfers

Take Your Game to the Next Level © All Rights Reserved 2023