PGA Tour docks Cameron Smith 2 shots for bad drop in third round of FedEx St. Jude Championship

Table of Contents

Cameron SmithHe is trying to be the No. The No. 1 golfer in the world, he is reportedly aiming to join the rival LIV Golf series. A 2-stroke penalty was assessed before Sundays final round at the FedEx St. Jude Championship at TPCSouthwind in Memphis, Tennessee.

According to a statement issued by the PGA Tour Smith was found to have played his ball in an unsuitable spot on the fourth hole during Saturday’s third round. Smith was penalized two strokes for violating Rule 14.7 by the tour. [playing ball from the wrong spot].

Smith, the winner at St. Andrews 150th Open Championship, took a fall after hitting his ball in the water on the par-3 Fourth hole.

Smith was 2 shots behind the leader after signing for a 3-under-67. J.J. Spaun. He began the final round with 4 strokes behind him after the penalty.

Rule 14.7 of The Rules of Golf states that a players ball must not come to rest in an area prohibited by the Rules of Golf. For each stroke played from this area, the player will receive two penalty strokes.

Smith hit his teeshot onto the green, but it bounced right into an adjacent pond. Smith needed two clubs worth relief. Smith dropped his ball and it rolled back towards the water, landing with a portion of it on the red penalty area line. He almost chipped his third shot into the hole from that point.

Gary Young, chief referee of the PGA Tour, stated that Smiths ball was very close the penalty-area line during live play on Saturday. Young spoke with the rules official, who was on the fourth green, but Smith did not call him for a ruling.

Young said that although it appeared that his ball was very close to the line, he was confident enough to know that he would not play a ball that was touching that line. Young was speaking to NBC Sports on Sunday.

Young reports that Smiths drop was raised by another member of the tours Rules Committee after watching a replay of the third round. Young stated Smiths ball was close enough to the line that we decided we should probably chat to the player.

Young asked Smith about Sunday mornings situation. Smith responded, Yeah. My ball was definitely touching it.

Young stated that Young didnt know that the ball could touch the penalty-area line. He believed that if a portion was in the general area on the course, it was safe to continue playing it.

Young claimed Smith was a complete gentleman and took the news as it came. He said, The rules will be the rules.

With Scottie SchefflerSmith would have been No.1 in the Official World Golf Ranking if he had missed the cut in Memphis. 1. In the Official World Golf Ranking, Smith is ranked No. 1 with a win in the FedEx St. Jude Championship. This is the first leg in the FedEx Cup playoffs.

On Tuesday, the Telegraph of London reported Smith would be the highest-ranked player to join LIV Golf league, which is supported by Saudi Arabia. Smith will reportedly receive a signing bonus of more than $100 million. He will debut at the next LIV event in Boston scheduled for Sept. 2 and 3.

Smith dodged reporters inquiries about the report.

Smith stated Tuesday that he is a man of his word and that he will speak for him whenever he needs to.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect, Share, and Grow with Fellow Golfers

Take Your Game to the Next Level © All Rights Reserved 2023